A comprehensive guide on the Commerce Control List (CCL)

Commerce Control List determines the restrictions and regulations on products being exported to the US and if they require export license. Learn more its categories in this blog.
Commerce Control List (CCL)
International trade involves paperwork and licenses necessary that determines if the products are ready to be exported from India. Irrespective of the scale of a business or the destination country, it is important for every exporter to understand and obtain these documents and export licenses. One such document is the Commerce Control list or CCL. For hassle-free international trade, exporters must know whether their products come under the CCL.

What is a Commerce Control List (CCL)?

The Commerce Control List or CCL is important for companies in the US engaged in international trade, helping them understand which goods require an export license or are subject to other restrictions. The CCL is maintained by the US Dept. of Commerce’s Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS) and is part of the Export Administration Regulations (EAR)1.

What is the role of the Department of Commerce Control?

The Department of Commerce Control (DOC) works towards driving economic competitiveness, strengthening industry, and accelerating the growth of quality jobs across the US. It regulates the flow of goods to and from the country and ensures economic growth2.

Commerce Control List (CCL) of the export administration regulations (EAR)

The Commerce Control List CCL is part of the Export Administration Regulations (EAR) and is maintained by the US Dept. of Commerce’s Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS). CCL is classified into 10 categories based on the type of goods, software, or technology, and each category is further divided into subcategories. Exporters must determine whether a product requires an export license by finding its Export Control Classification Number (ECCN), a code comprising alphabets and numbers.

List of the Export Administration Regulations (EAR) categories for CCL:

· Nuclear materials, facilities, and equipment
· Materials, chemicals, microorganisms, and toxins
· Materials processing
· Electronics
· Computers
· Telecommunications and information security
· Sensors and lasers
· Navigation and avionics
· Marine
· Aerospace and propulsion systems

Item list of Commerce Control List (CCL)

Each category of the CCL contains five groups identified by letters A through E:

· A - Equipment, assemblies, and components
· B - Test, inspection, and production equipment
· C - Materials
· D - Software
· E - Technology

Here are some examples of items that are listed on the CCL:

Nuclear materials, facilities, and equipment:

Nuclear reactor components, fuel rods, associated equipment, Uranium, Plutonium, nuclear reactors, and related equipment.

Materials, chemicals, microorganisms, and toxins:

Chemicals with potential dual-use applications, such as specific polymers and catalysts.

Materials processing:

Equipment used to produce advanced materials, including certain furnaces and casting machines.


Electronic components and devices with potential military applications, such as microwave amplifiers and encryption devices.


High-performance computers and associated software with potential military applications.

Telecommunications and information security:

Encryption software and hardware, telecommunications equipment, and certain types of software.

Sensors and lasers:

Laser systems and components, night vision equipment, and certain types of sensors.

Navigation and avionics:

Aerospace navigation equipment, including inertial navigation systems and certain types of avionics equipment.


Certain ships and boats, marine equipment, and propulsion systems.

Aerospace and propulsion systems:

Aircraft, aircraft engines, and rocket propulsion systems.

Commerce Control List Country Chart

The CCL Country Chart provides a comprehensive overview of the restrictions and requirements for exporting goods4. The chart lists the reasons for controlling exports to different countries, such as anti-terrorism, nuclear nonproliferation, and missile technology. Exporters can use this chart to determine whether their product requires an export license.

Understanding the CCL Country Chart

Below are some of the steps to be followed:

Step 1

Find the ECCN associated with your product from the CCL.

Step 2

Examine the codes for Reason for Control. If the cells are blank, this implies that no export license is required.

The CCL is an important list for exporters selling in the US. Apart from this, you will also need to obtain licenses depending on your product category, shipping method and tax regulations. For instance, to export spices from India to the US, one of the requirements you need to meet is FDA guidelines for food labeling and establishment.
Once all the necessary documents are obtained, Indian MSMEs can opt for e-commerce exports to sell their ‘Made in India’ products across the world.

Amazon Global Selling: Your passport to easy exports

Amazon Global Selling is an e-commerce exports program that enables Indian exporters like you to take your business from India to international customers across the globe. With millions of customers, businesses can reach international customers in 18 Amazon marketplaces across 200+ countries and territories including Amazon USA, UK, UAE, Australia and more. Amazon provides expert support at every stage – from registration and listing to logistics and advertising.

Frequently Asked Questions

Who controls the Commerce Control List?
The CCL is regulated by the Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS) under the Export Administration Regulations (EAR).
What does the department of commerce control do?
The department of commerce is responsible for regulating and developing India's international trade and commerce6.
What are EAR regulations?
The Export Administration Regulations (EAR) regulate the export, re-export, and in-country transfer of less sensitive military items, commercial items with dual-use applications, and purely commercial items5. This framework ensures control and compliance across diverse categories of products.
What is the ECCN Number?
An Export Control Classification Number (ECCN) is a five-digit number that includes alphanumeric designations that are part of the Commerce Control List (CCL). The Department of Commerce of the US Government introduced the ECCN to classify U.S. exports and determine whether an export license is required.
Published on March 29, 2023.


Sell across the world with Amazon Global Selling

Ready to start exporting from India?
Want to learn about Amazon Global Selling?
Disclaimer: Whilst Amazon Seller Services Private Limited ("Amazon") has used reasonable endeavours in compiling the information provided, Amazon provides no assurance as to its accuracy, completeness or usefulness or that such information is error-free. In certain cases, the blog is provided by a third-party seller and is made available on an "as-is" basis. Amazon hereby disclaims any and all liability and assumes no responsibility whatsoever for consequences resulting from use of such information. Information provided may be changed or updated at any time, without any prior notice. You agree to use the information, at your own risk and expressly waive any and all claims, rights of action and/or remedies (under law or otherwise) that you may have against Amazon arising out of or in connection with the use of such information. Any copying, redistribution or republication of the information, or any portion thereof, without prior written consent of Amazon is strictly prohibited.

*Map not to scale. The map has been used for design and representational purpose only, it does not depict the geographical boundaries of the country. These do not conform to the external boundaries of India recognized by the Survey of India.
Follow Amazon Global Selling on